The History of Runes and Masteries in League of Legends

Runes and masteries are integral aspects of League of Legends. As you represent yourself with the avatar of a Summoner, you build up your profile through victories. You unlock customization through banners and icons, as well as in-game achievements. To do so, you equip your champion with runes that increase their attacks and abilities. Mastery of a champion results in favorable match-ups that raise your Summoner profile. It is essential to understand the history of both runes and champion mastery.


In League of Legends, players go by a progression system known as Champion Mastery. It is available to you after you reach a summoner level of five. The system records a player’s skill level with every champion they play. Whenever an eligible game ends, it grades your performance and compares it to the entire player database. The scale goes from S, A, B, C, and D ranks with S as the highest and D the lowest. Afterward, you earn points for your champion. This point score system is known as Champion Points or CP. Every champion has a mastery level up to five in total and starts at level one. The better the performance, the more CP you accumulate for your particular champion.


Over time as you rise in the ranks, you unlock rewards for your champion. They range from role-specific titles for your champion to mastery badge emotes and load screen borders. You also unlock an announcement banner for every kill from you or another teammate. There is also a Mastery Level 6 and 7, once your champion ranks S in Level 5. You use Mastery Tokens with the Hextech loot system to get champion shards and permanents.


For your champion to level up faster, it is imperative to enhance them with runes. They augment your champion’s stats and abilities in battle. Runes are purchasable in the Riot Store with Influence Points, which you earn as you play matches. For example, every win nets you 18 IP with 2.312 per minute. Losses give you 16 IP with 1.405 per minute. These add up over time, which allows you to purchase runes. You have a limit of 720 runes in total.


There are four types of runes:


  • Mark - This rune focuses on offense.
  • Seal - This rune focuses on defense.
  • Glyph - This rune focuses on magic.
  • Quintessence - This rune focuses on versatility.


These runes give bonuses for your champion. The effectiveness of each rune depends on the playstyle you prefer. You can also divide runes into three tiers that represent different levels of power. Tier One is for lesser runes, Tier Two is available for purchase at Level 10, and Tier Three is for greater runes. You can only buy the Tier Three runes at level 20.




To build your Summoner profile in League of Legends, you need to master your champions’ rune system. Time and dedication is an essential factor as you play through games. Figure out which champion represents you best as you experiment with runes. You can increase your champion’s mastery level through hard work and commitment.